The Man Who Invented Christmas (2017)


In 1843, Dickens was a literary rock star, but struggling financially after the slow sales of his previous novel, Martin Chuzzlewit. Seized with the vision of a story that would fire the hearts of humanity, Dickens pitched his publishers A Christmas Carol, but they passed. Desperate, Dickens declared he would publish it himself. Slipping into the world of his novel, he spent the next six weeks laughing and arguing with his characters, acting out scenes like a madman on the streets of London for hours on end. With a powerful performance from Dan Stevens, THE MAN WHO INVENTED CHRISTMAS is a film for all ages about the most iconic Christmas story ever written and the genius behind it. The film also stars Christopher Plummer (The Sound of Music) as Ebenezer Scrooge and Jonathan Pryce (Game of Thrones) as John Dickens.

The Man Who Invented Christmas Viooz
Viooz Score: 6.3/10 from 208 votes
Release Date: 2017-11-22
Status: Released
Run time: 104 min / 1:44
Production Studio : Rhombus Media, Mazur / Kaplan Company, The Mob Film Company, Parallel Films, Universal Pictures
Production Countries: Canada, Ireland, United Kingdom, United States of America

The Man Who Invented Christmas Casts

Dan Stevens
as Charles Dickens
Christopher Plummer
as Ebenezer Scrooge
Jonathan Pryce
as John Dickens
Miriam Margolyes
as Mrs. Fisk
Simon Callow
as Leech
Morfydd Clark
as Kate Dickens
Ger Ryan
as Mrs Dickens
Ian McNeice
as Chapman
Bill Paterson
as Mr. Grimsby
Donald Sumpter
as Jacob Marley
Justin Edwards
as John Forster
Miles Jupp
as William Makepiece Thackeray
John Henshaw
as Mr Fezziwig/Butcher
Annette Badland
as Mrs. Fezziwig/Butcher's Wife
Cosimo Fusco
as Signor Mazzini

The Man Who Invented Christmas Crew

Editing Stephen O'Connell Editor
Directing Bharat Nalluri Director
Writing Susan Coyne Writer
Writing Les Standiford Author
Production Niv Fichman Producer
Production Vadim Jean Producer
Production Robert Mickelson Producer
Production Susan Mullen Producer
Production Ian Sharples Producer
Sound Mychael Danna Original Music Composer
Camera Ben Smithard Director of Photography
Editing Jamie Pearson Editor
Production Amy Hubbard Casting
Art Paki Smith Production Design