The Admiral: Roaring Currents (2014)


The film mainly follows the famous 1597 Battle of Myeongryang during the Japanese invasion of Korea (1592-1598), where the iconic Joseon admiral Yi Sun-sin managed to destroy a total of 133 Japanese warships with only 13 ships remaining in his command. The battle, which took place in the Myeongryang Strait off the southwest coast of the Korean Peninsula, is considered one of the greatest victories of Yi.

The Admiral: Roaring Currents Viooz
Viooz Score: 7/10 from 158 votes
Release Date: 2014-07-30
Status: Released
Run time: 126 min / 2:6
Production Studio : Big Stone Pictures, CJ Entertainment
Production Country: South Korea

The Admiral: Roaring Currents Casts

Choi Min-sik
as Admiral Yi Sun-Shin
Ryu Seung-ryong
as General Kurushima
Cho Jin-woong
as Wakizaka Yasuharu
Jin Goo
as Im Jun-yeong
Lee Jung-hyun
as Mrs. Jeong
Kim Myung-gon
as Commander Todo
Kwon Yul
as Yi Hoe
No Min-woo
as Haru
Kim Tae-hoon
as Kim Joong-geol
Ryohei Otani
as Junsa
Lee Seung-joon
as Captain Ahn Wi
Kim Kang-il
as Kato
Park Bo-gum
as Bae Su-bong
Lee Hae-yeong
as Song Hui-rip
Jang Jun-nyeong
as Na Dae-yong
Mun Yeong-dong
as Kim Dol-son
Kim Won-hae
as Bae-seol
Choi Deok-moon
as Song Yeo-jong
Park No-shik
as Kim Eok-choo (uncredited)
Shin Yoo-ram
as Hye-hee (uncredited)
Kim Hyeon-tae
as Ok-hyung (uncredited)
Kang Tae-young
as Kimura (uncredited)
Kim Gu-taek
as Bae Hong-seok (uncredited)
Jo Bok-rae
as Oh Sang-gu (uncredited)
Ko Kyoung-pyo
as Oh Duk-yi (uncredited)
Lee Jae-gu
as Jo Mun-ong (uncredited)
Jo Ha-seok
as Jo Tae-shik (uncredited)
Lee Joo-sil
as Elder Jong-seon (uncredited)
Han Yi-jin
as Bae-seol's man (uncredited)
Joo Suk-tae
as Katsura (uncredited)
Kim Min-sik
as Navy

The Admiral: Roaring Currents Crew

Costume & Make-Up Rim Seung-hee Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Kwon Yoo-jin Costume Design
Directing Kim Han-min Director
Production Kim Han-min Executive Producer
Writing Kim Han-min Writer
Production Steven Nam Co-Producer
Production Jeong Tae-sung Executive Producer
Lighting Kim Gyeong-seok Lighting Director
Editing Kim Chang-ju Editor
Sound Kim Tae-seong Original Music Composer
Production Kim Hyun-woo Co-Executive Producer
Writing Jeon Cheol-hong Writer
Production Bang Ok-kyung Executive Producer
Camera Kim Tae-sung Director of Photography
Art Jang Chun-sup Production Design
Visual Effects Park Young-soo Senior Visual Effects Supervisor
Production Kim Min-gi Producer
Editing Han Mi-yeon Assistant Editor
Sound Choi Tae-young Sound Supervisor
Sound Kang Bong-seong Sound Recordist
Crew Yoon Dae-won Special Effects
Production Kim Yeon-ho Line Producer
Art Im Seong-mi Art Direction
Production Jeong Byeong-wuk Producer
Production Kim Ju-kyung Producer
Production Jeon U-hyeong Line Producer
Costume & Make-Up Lee Gyeong-ja Makeup & Hair
Editing Kim Woo-hyun Assistant Editor
Sound Kim Byung-in ADR Recordist
Visual Effects Seo Doo-hyeong VFX Artist