The Host (2006)

HorrorDramaScience Fiction

Following the dumping of gallons of toxic waste in the river, a giant mutated squid-like appears and begins attacking the populace. Gang-du's daughter Hyun-seo is snatched up by the creature; with his family to assist him, he sets off to find her.

The Host Viooz
Viooz Score: 7/10 from 1745 votes
Release Date: 2006-07-27
Status: Released
Run time: 120 min / 2:0
Production Studio : Chungeorahm Film, Boston Investments, CJ Venture Investment, Cowell Investment Capital Co., IMM Venture Capital, Knowledge & Creation Ventures, M-Venture Investment, OCN, Sego Entertainment, Seoul Broadcasting System (SBS), Tube Pictures, Showbox, Cineclick Asia, Happinet Pictures
Production Country: South Korea

The Host Casts

Song Kang-ho
as Park Gang-du
Byun Hee-bong
as Park Hie-bong
Park Hae-il
as Park Nam-il
Bae Doo-na
as Park Nam-joo
Go Ah-sung
as Park Hyun-seo
Oh Dal-su
as The Monster (voice)
Lee Jae-eung
as Se-jin
Lee Dong-ho
as Se-joo
Yoon Je-moon
as Homeless Man
David Anselmo
as Donald
Baek Do-bin
as Fumigation truck skinny man (uncredited)
Martin Lord Cayce
as U.S. Senator (uncredited)
Choi Dae-sung
as Man from duck boat (uncredited)
Choi Doo-yeong
as Man on blind date (uncredited)
Choi Jae-Sup
as Detective agency Subordinate 1 (uncredited)
Ko Su-hee
as Hostage nurse (uncredited)
Jung Seo-yoon
as Woman with long hair (uncredited)
Philip Hersh
as Additional Voices (voice) (uncredited)
Jung In-gi
as Isolation ward doctor
Jeong Hyeong-Ho
as 4th Mat 3 (uncredited)
Ji Ha-geon
as Camera phone man (uncredited)
Jung Kang-hee
as Mr. Yoon's employee (uncredited)
Kim Bi-bi
as Isolation ward nurse 1 (uncredited)
Kim Choo-wol
as Woman crying (uncredited)
Kim Da-yeon
as 5th Mat Woman (uncredited)
Kim Hak-sun
as Civilian military Mr. Kim (uncredited)
Kim Hyo-sun
as Quarantine hospital nurse 2 (uncredited)
Kim Jin-seon
as Woman from couple (uncredited)
Kim Nan-hee
as Woman from duck boat (uncredited)
Kim Roe-ha
as Yellow suit at funeral
Kim Sang-jo
as Old security guard (uncredited)
Kwon Bang-hyeon
as Bride-to-be (uncredited)
Kwon Byung-gil
as Doctor from isolation ward 1 (uncredited)
Kwon Hyeok-Pung
as Fisherman 1 (uncredited)
Paul Lazar
as US Doctor
Lee Dong-yong
as 4th Mat 2 (uncredited)
Lee Eung-jae
as Man from couple (uncredited)
Lee Hoon-jin
as Fat man (uncredited)
Lee Jong-yoon
as 4th Mat 1 (uncredited)
Lee Seung-jin
as Girl's father (uncredited)
Min Kyung-jin
as Altar security (uncredited)
Moon Hee-ra
as Camera phone woman (uncredited)
Clinton Morgan
as Agent Yellow (uncredited)
Park Jeong-gi
as Fumigation truck dyed-hir man (uncredited)
Park Jin-woo
as Isolation ward constable (uncredited)
Park Kyeong-mok
as Groom-to-be (uncredited)
Park No-shik
as Inquiry officer
Ra Mi-ran
as Woman stomping her feet (uncredited)
Brian Rhee
as Young Korean Doctor
Seo Ha-neul
as Exchanged girl (uncredited)
Shin Seung-ri
as Donald's girlfriend (uncredited)
Sin Hyeon-jong
as Mr. Yoon's friend (uncredited)
Son Young-soon
as Grandmother from bus (uncredited)
Song Jin-ho
as Doctor from isolation ward 2 (uncredited)
Song Kyeong-ha
as Woman on blind date (uncredited)
Scott Wilson
as Douglas
Yim Pil-sung
as Fat Guevara
Yoo Seung-mok
as Taxi driver
Yoo Yeon-su
as District officer Mr. Jo (uncredited)

The Host Crew

Art Ryu Seong-hee Production Design
Writing Bong Joon-ho Screenplay
Directing Bong Joon-ho Director
Writing Baek Chul-hyun Screenplay
Production Choi Yong-bae Producer
Sound Lee Byung-woo Original Music Composer
Camera Kim Hyung-koo Director of Photography
Production Miky Lee Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Cho Sang-kyung Costume Design
Sound Rob Nokes Sound Effects
Production Kim Woo-taek Executive Producer
Editing Kim Sun-min Editor
Sound Yasuaki Nakajima ADR Supervisor
Sound Coll Anderson Sound Designer
Production Katharine Kim Co-Executive Producer
Production Joon H. Choi Co-Executive Producer
Visual Effects Karen Kelly Visual Effects Coordinator
Production Jeong Tae-sung Executive Producer
Camera Kim Byung-seo Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Kwak Jung-ae Costume Design
Lighting Jung Young-min Lighting Director
Production Kim Hyun-woo Co-Executive Producer
Sound Sean Garnhart Sound Designer
Visual Effects Park Jae-wook VFX Artist
Production Junyoung Jang Co-Producer
Sound Bill Orrico Sound Effects Editor
Production Lewis Taewan Kim Co-Producer
Production Jeong Won-jo Production Coordinator
Art Yang Hong-sam Set Decoration
Sound Choi Tae-young Sound
Costume & Make-Up Song Jong-hee Makeup & Hair
Editing Lee Yong-gi Colorist
Art Toby Barron Sculptor
Art Toby Barron Painter
Production Joh Neung-yeon Producer
Costume & Make-Up Hee Eun Lee Special Effects Makeup Artist
Editing Han Jae-min Colorist
Camera Kyung-bo Yeo Steadicam Operator
Production John Jackson Casting
Crew John Cox Animatronics Supervisor
Art Liam Hardy Sculptor
Art Liam Hardy Painter
Crew Heui-cheol Jang Special Effects
Art Richard Mueck Sculptor
Art Richard Mueck Painter
Art Steven Parker Sculptor
Art Steven Parker Painter
Art David Renn Sculptor
Art David Renn Painter
Writing Ha Jun-won Screenplay
Crew Yang Kil-young Fight Choreographer
Lighting Lee Kang-san Lighting Director
Directing Kim Jun-su Assistant Director