David Oyelowo



Place of birth:

Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, UK:


David Oyelowo was born in Oxford in 1976. His family originates from Nigeria. David studied Theatre Studies for A level and his teacher suggested he should become an actor. After A levels David enrolled for a year on an Art foundation course. In December 2000 David became the first black actor to play an English monarch for the RSC taking the title role in Henry VI. His performance won him the 'Ian Charleson' Award 2001 for best newcomer in a classical play.

Film Credits

The Water Man (2021)
as Amos
Peter Rabbit 2: The Runaway (2021)
as Nigel Basil-Jones
Chaos Walking (2021)
as Aaron
The Midnight Sky (2020)
as Adewole
Come Away (2020)
as Jack
The Tiger Who Came To Tea (2019)
as The Tiger (voice)
Don't Let Go (2019)
as Detective Jack Radcliff
Gringo (2018)
as Harold Soyinka
A Wrinkle in Time (2018)
as The It (voice)
The Cloverfield Paradox (2018)
as Kiel
The Lion Guard: The Rise of Scar (2018)
as Scar (voice)
August 28: A Day in the Life of a People (2017)
A United Kingdom (2016)
as Seretse Khama
Queen of Katwe (2016)
as Robert Katende
Five Nights in Maine (2016)
as Sherwin
Star Wars Rebels: Steps Into Shadow (2016)
as Agent Kallus (voice)
Nina (2016)
as Clifton Henderson
Captive (2015)
as Brian Nichols
Star Wars Rebels: The Siege of Lothal (2015)
as Agent Kallus (voice)
A Most Violent Year (2014)
as D.A. Lawrence
Selma (2014)
as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
9 Kisses (2014)
as Arm Wrestling Man #1
Interstellar (2014)
as Principal
Default (2014)
as Atlas
Star Wars Rebels: Spark of Rebellion (2014)
as Agent Kallus (voice)
Nightingale (2014)
as Peter Snowden
The Butler (2013)
as Louis Gaines
Complicit (2013)
as Edward Ekubo
Jack Reacher (2012)
as Emerson
Lincoln (2012)
as Corporal Ira Clark
Middle of Nowhere (2012)
as Brian
The Paperboy (2012)
as Yardley Acheman
Rahab (2012)
as Cen
Red Tails (2012)
as Joe 'Lightning' Little
96 Minutes (2011)
as Duane
The Help (2011)
as Preacher Green
Rise of the Planet of the Apes (2011)
as Steven Jacobs
Rage (2009)
as Homer
Who Do You Love (2008)
as Muddy Waters
Sweet Nothing in My Ear (2008)
as Leonard Grisham
A Raisin in the Sun (2008)
as Joseph Asagai
Born Equal (2006)
as Yemi
Shoot the Messenger (2006)
The Last King of Scotland (2006)
as Dr. Thomas Junju
As You Like It (2006)
as Orlando De Boys
Derailed (2005)
as Patrol Officer
The Best Man (2005)
as Graham
A Sound of Thunder (2005)
as Payne
Tomorrow La Scala! (2002)
Dog Eat Dog (2001)
as CJ
Sweet Thunder ()
as Sugar Ray Robinson
Solitary ()
Untitled Saoirse Ronan Murder Mystery ()

Production Credits

The Water Man (2021)
The Water Man (2021)
La Nuit des rois (2021)
Executive Producer
Don't Let Go (2019)
Executive Producer
Don't Let Go (2019)
A United Kingdom (2016)
13th (2016)
Five Nights in Maine (2016)
Captive (2015)
Nightingale (2014)
Executive Producer
Big Guy (2009)